Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

10.3: Disabled AUTOMOUNT causes browsing issues Network
After installing Panther I found that, although I could connect to remote servers via IP addresses, the Network Browser did not find any servers on our LAN. I traced the problem to a change that I made in the /etc/hostconfig file.

The background: Several months ago, one of our MacOS X 10.2.x remote server volumes could no longer be unmounted from some of our Jaguar clients. Mounted volumes from this server could only be removed by logging off or restarting. A hint from the excellent 'Mac OS X Unleased (2nd Ed)' by John Ray and William C. Ray suggested AUTOMOUNT may have been the cause. AUTOMOUNT is active by default, but can be deactivated in the /etc/hostconfig file. I deactivated AUTOMOUNT using the pico text editor by entering: sudo pico /etc/hostconfig and changing AUTOMOUNT=-YES- to AUTOMOUNT=-NO- and saving and restarting. This solved the unmountable volume problem and browsing the LAN worked under Jaguar.

Installing Panther broke my network browsing. After struggling with the lack of this feature, I recalled my changes to hostconfig. Again using pico, I edited hostconfig and changed AUTOMOUNT back to the default -YES-. After restarting, network browsing again functions under my Panther installation. Apparently, network browsing is implemented differently under Panther, and AUTOMOUNT must be active for it to function.
    •    
  • Currently 2.00 / 5
  You rated: 3 / 5 (6 votes cast)
 
[13,601 views]  

10.3: Disabled AUTOMOUNT causes browsing issues | 9 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the '10.3: Disabled AUTOMOUNT causes browsing issues' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.3: Disabled AUTOMOUNT causes browsing issues
Authored by: wgscott on Nov 16, '03 05:05:50PM

I had to turn automount off in 10.2 to get NFS to work when I wasn't logged in.

However, the upgrade to 10.3 tosses out the old /etc/hostconfig and replaces it with a new one.

Did you put the old one back? There are other differences as well.

NFS seems ok now in 10.3 with automount on.



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.3: Disabled AUTOMOUNT causes browsing issues
Authored by: schuz on Nov 17, '03 10:05:30AM

Interesting. I did not re-install the Jaguar /etc/hostconfig after upgrading to Panther. My Panther installation kept and used the edited Jaguar /etc/hostconfig that I discussed in my original post.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Perhaps a related issue??
Authored by: jendahl on Nov 17, '03 09:40:43AM

Thanks, this was useful info.

I'm having another strange issue with network login on my Panther box. We run Netware with Native File Access, and have always used the clear text option for passwords. (not secure, but the logins have worked). As an experiement, after doing the "Connect to server," I hit the options tab and turned off the clear text option. Now, whenever I try to connect to a server (using afp://ww.xx.yy.zz), I never even see the login box. All I get is a dialog indicating my username and password are incorrect. I have no way of re-entering that info however, the normal login dialog never appears any more.

I had thought it was a Panther issue, but I created a second local account on my workstation, and that account can log in to the network normally...i.e. that account gets the normal server connection dialog box.

Does anyone know where the "use clear text" option resides in the myriad of preference files and plists so I can turn it back on??? Thanks!

--> John

---
John Endahl, District Network Administrator
Williamston Community Schools

"A mind is a fire to be kindled, not a vessel to be filled."



[ Reply to This | # ]
Perhaps a related issue??
Authored by: schuz on Nov 17, '03 12:18:03PM

I don't know if this helps, but I can make the following observation. If you connect to a server with multiple shares, the user and password information that was used for the initial connection will be used for all subsequent connections to other shares. Dismount all shares to the particular server and reconnect; the log in box will re-appear.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Perhaps a related issue??
Authored by: jendahl on Nov 17, '03 12:25:08PM

Nope, that's not it. This is happening (and has happened multiple times) from complete system shutdowns, with all network connections terminated. The dialog box that appears is unlike any that I have seen when doing network logins. There is the error message, a "retry" and a "cancel" button, no login field, no password file, and retry just causes the same box to re-appear.

--> John

---
John Endahl, District Network Administrator
Williamston Community Schools

"A mind is a fire to be kindled, not a vessel to be filled."



[ Reply to This | # ]
Perhaps a related issue??
Authored by: MVasilakis on Nov 18, '03 02:05:21PM

try deleting the login/pass from you keychain.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Perhaps a related issue??
Authored by: stewar on Apr 06, '04 02:21:31AM

I'm having the exact same problem - one particular user/server combination and the login options just aren't given, just a useless 'password is wrong try again' dialog.. and can confirm that it's not a keychain thing because i've deleted everything in all the user's keychains. (except for the SafariFormsAutoFill which keeps coming back)

and when i found this thread i thought i'd found the solution. guess i'll just go back to digging through .prefs :-(



[ Reply to This | # ]
Perhaps a related issue??
Authored by: sargeantbargears on Jun 01, '04 01:09:18PM

Did you ever find a solution to the loss of the clear text option. I had the same problem. Phoned apple and they were useless.

Craig



[ Reply to This | # ]
Perhaps a related issue??
Authored by: cpaulin on Oct 01, '04 12:21:14PM

In order to fix this ridiculous issue, you have to do the following:
open terminal

change to su (you must have root enabled with a password)

change to your ~/Library/Preferences folder (cd ~/Library/Preferences)

edit your global preferences file with the following command

pico .GlobalPreferences.plist

find the entry that says the following:
<key>afp_cleartext_allow</key>
<false/>

change it to:
<key>afp_cleartext_allow</key>
<true/>

Save the file and I think you can now connect without a restart.!!

It is ridiculous that apple would create a check box, that you can no longer access once you check it. Boo I say Boo



[ Reply to This | # ]