Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

10.2 install archives contents of /Users/Shared Install
Caution: If you are about to do an 'Archive and Install' install of Jaguar, be aware that the contents of /Users/Shared is apparently also archived off. There are no apparent warnings in the installer or documentation.

The risk is that you will install the new system, check that everything works OK and then empty the 'Previous Systems' folder, thereby losing any /Users/Shared data. Quite why it is configured like this is beyond me. But it's annoying.
    •    
  • Currently 2.57 / 5
  You rated: 5 / 5 (7 votes cast)
 
[4,949 views]  

10.2 install archives contents of /Users/Shared | 2 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the '10.2 install archives contents of /Users/Shared' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Not to worry. . .
Authored by: avonterr on Sep 16, '02 12:57:04PM

The /Users/Shared folder is retained in the Previous Systems folder, as are old versions of apps, the old system folder, etc.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Yes, worry
Authored by: Angostura on Sep 17, '02 03:02:34AM

Yes, I know its archived off into the previous systems folder. The trouble is that other people may fall into the same trap as me.

Not realising that Apple has decided that a seemingly arbitrary data folder should be considered part of the system.

When you install a new system should you have check all your data folders to make sure that Apple hasn't decided to archive it off?

No. In fact what I did was check carefully that my new system was working then delete the backup. It wasn't until several days later that I needed a document in /Users/Shared and found that it had gone.

Chris



[ Reply to This | # ]