Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

Deleted users process much improved in 10.2 System
I was doing a bit of a tidying up after upgrading to 10.2. Some of this involved deleting a few users. In 10.1 and earlier, when you deleted a user, the permissions on the remaining files would be associated to another user, and the folder structure would change to "/Users/Deleted User user_name," with all the files still loose in the sub-directories.

The interesting and really rather cool thing is that when this is done under 10.2, it creates a disk image containing all of the user's file. Very cool for backing up in one go, and probably actually not a bad way of backing up user accounts, or even moving them to another machine (although I have not tested that theory).
    •    
  • Currently 2.33 / 5
  You rated: 3 / 5 (3 votes cast)
 
[2,198 views]  

Deleted users process much improved in 10.2 | 1 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the 'Deleted users process much improved in 10.2' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Not so cool all the time
Authored by: Jaharmi on Jan 02, '03 01:00:21PM

This new behavior of backing up a deleted user's home directory is not so beneficial all of the time. Take for example the cautionary tale of my coworker who had a very large home directory (an iMovie user) that got corrupted. He was not able to log in with it, but was able to log in with a second admin account on the same machine.

We got so frustrated that we eventually called Apple about it. And we're in tech support ourselves, so we tried a lot of tricks.

When it came time to delete the account so he could recreate it and restore it from a backup, he did not have enough space to duplicate the entire thing into a new disk image.

It would be nice to have the option to just delete a user instead of having to back it up, if you know that's what you want to do to fix a particular problem. I would be okay with a dialog that asks you whether you want the old behavior (which did not duplicate files) or the new (which duplicates your entire home directory into one large image) or nothing at all.

[ Reply to This | # ]