Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

Potential file move data loss bug System
Macintouch is reporting (as an entry in their continuing OS X Special Report) that, in certain situations, using the command key shortcut to move data from one drive to another can result in data loss. The Macintouch report has all the details, but the situation seems to arise when the destination volume has difficulty accepting the moved files, due either to space or naming limitations.

So for now, if you've been using this shortcut, you may wish to revert to the older copy to destination-erase original methodology. Personally, this is the way that I've always preferred to move files about; even on my Windows box at the office I stay away from the "move" option. I like the security of seeing the files in two places at once prior to erasing the originals!

Apple is aware of the issue, at least according to the post on Macintouch.
    •    
  • Currently 0.00 / 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  (0 votes cast)
 
[2,123 views]  

Potential file move data loss bug | 1 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the 'Potential file move data loss bug' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Point Well Made
Authored by: 128K Mac on Mar 29, '02 07:13:06PM

I also have been following the discussion on MacInTouch and have concerns about "moving" files via use of the command key.

Being old fashioned I share with the author the reassuring sight of a file copied from one drive to another and being able to see one on each drive. Deleting the original(s), if desired, is not exactly a time consuming process since command-delete and command-shift-delete became available with OS9.

I have used the "command key" to "move" a file rarely. I also think it an unwise idea until whatever bug exists is squashed.



[ Reply to This | # ]