Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

Eliminate multiple listings in 'Connect to Server' Network
I saw this tip on MacFixIt and it was just what I had been looking for. In other words this works.

We have had a problem where, when selecting the "Connect to Server" command, we get multiple listings for the very Mac we are using, all with different IP addresses. In one case, the IP address was one we could never even recall using. Mark Delfs offered this solution, which worked:
  1. Turn off AppleTalk from Network System Preferences.
  2. Launch Terminal.
  3. Type cd /var
  4. Type sudo rm slp.regfile to delete the slp.regfile file.
  5. Restart.
  6. Turn AppleTalk back on.
The OS should now rebuild the file and you will no longer see the multiple IP numbers in the Connect to Server dialog box.
    •    
  • Currently 2.50 / 5
  You rated: 1 / 5 (4 votes cast)
 
[4,712 views]  

Eliminate multiple listings in 'Connect to Server' | 3 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the 'Eliminate multiple listings in 'Connect to Server'' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Don't have to restart
Authored by: Xeo on Nov 27, '01 02:29:25AM

You do not have to restart your computer to make this work. Simply turning off File Sharing and turning it back on will recreate that file.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Well, maybe
Authored by: Xeo on Dec 02, '01 11:26:51PM

You might have to restart. The listings don't seem to show up in "Connect to server..." -> "Local Network" until you restart. Maybe that's because the slp file is only loaded once per startup? Also, things like your http server, Macintosh Manager server (OS X Server) and other services are all stored in that file. Only restarting AFP only adds your afp to that file and all your other services won't be re-added until you restart



[ Reply to This | # ]
Eliminate multiple listings in 'Connect to Server' using (OS X 10.1?)
Authored by: DesignPro on Mar 31, '04 12:28:49PM

I have a similar problem in OS X 10.1.5 and when the computer is put to sleep it will have to be restarted before I can connect to it from any other system in our network. Are those two issues related?

We see multiple computer names that represent the 10.1 system we are connecting from shown in the 'connect to server' window. We also see the computers that we tried using to connect to the 10.1 system. Those systems are running 10.2. They can see each other but not the 10.1 system until it is restarted.



[ Reply to This | # ]